What is a Blown Save in Baseball?

what is a blown save in baseball

Last updated on October 25th, 2023 at 08:14 pm

A blown save (BS) in baseball occurs when a relief pitcher cannot secure the save situation by allowing a tying run or winning run to score. An example of a blown save occurs if a reliever came in in the ninth with a two-run lead and gave up two runs or more. However, blowing save is similar to the HOLD stat where it is not an official MLB stat, but teams value it. 


What is a Save Opportunity Situation?

What is a Save Opportunity Situation

The baseball save occurs when a new pitcher comes into a game with a three-run lead or less and completes the win. The save opportunity could be as little as a third of an inning to pitching three innings in a row. As long as that pitcher secures the final out between 1/3 and 3 innings of pitching, they get the save.


If the pitcher came into the game with a three-run or less lead and then got additional runs, they will still earn the save record. For example, let’s say the closer came into the eighth inning with one out and bases loaded with a one-run lead. If the pitcher gets a double play to end the inning, and then his team scores seven runs in the next inning, they can still record a save if they pitch the ninth and secure the win.


Can a Blown Save in Baseball Occur Before the Ninth Inning?

can a blown save in baseball occur before the ninth inning

A blown save can occur before the ninth inning of a baseball game. For example, let’s pretend that the New York Yankees closer came in to pitch in the 8th inning with a two-run lead against the Houston Astros with one runner on. If the pitcher gave up a home run against the hitter and that ties the game, they would receive the blown save.


Can you Blow a Save and Record the Win?

can you blow a save and record the win

A relief pitcher who blows the save can still record a win during the baseball game. For example, let’s pretend that the Los Angeles Dodgers closer came in at the top of the ninth with a one-run lead against the Boston Red Sox. The Red Sox scored one run in the ninth via a wild pitch, which forces the Dodgers to bat in the bottom of the ninth. If the Dodgers can score one (or more) runs in the ninth inning to break the tie, and the previous Dodger pitcher finished the top of the ninth pitching, they become the winning pitcher even after blowing the save.



How is a Blown Save Different from a Blown Hold?

how is a blown save different from a blow hold

The primary difference between a blown save and a blown hold pertains to a save situation vs. not.


For example, let’s pretend that the Texas Rangers starting pitcher only pitches five innings against the Baltimore Orioles and leaves with a one-run lead. If the next pitcher out of the bullpen gives up two runs, that pitcher receives the blown hold stat, but not a blown save. If, however, that starting pitcher went eight innings and then the relief pitcher blew the save in the ninth, they would get the blown save.


Similar Posts

What Does a Baseball Manager Do?

Baseball World Series

What is a Perfect Game in Baseball?

Baseball Rosin Bag

What is DFA in Baseball?

Baseball WHIP

What Does QAB Mean in Baseball?

What is Baseball Arbitration?

Baseball MVR

How to Become an MLB Umpire?


How Does the Wild Card Work in MLB?

What is the Rule 5 Draft?

MLB Trade Deadline

What Does OPS Mean in Baseball?

What Does a GM Do in Baseball?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *